Lacto-lemons

Tonight, I discovered that making lacto-fermented lemons is a breeze. They’re traditionally used as a north African condiment, similar to olives, and they have a salty sourness that I can’t wait to try! Once they’re fermented they can last at room temperature or in the fridge for years (!?!)

20130220-213803.jpg

20130220-213809.jpg

1. Wash and scrub the lemons and cut off the tip with the stem. Cut the lemon almost into quarters, leaving a bit connected at the end.

2. Sprinkle the insides with coarse salt (I used regular sea salt), and then put the lemons into a glass jar.

3. Mush the lemons down in the jar to squeeze out some of the liquid to create a brine. The brine should rise to cover (or almost cover) the lemons.

4. A recipe I found said to sprinkle with more salt in between each layer, but I tasted some of the brine already and (as expected) it tasted like very salty lemon juice. Screw on the top, and let the lemons hang out for a few weeks. Then they’re ready to be used. Just how, I have yet to discover!

20130220-213814.jpg

20130220-213819.jpg

Leave a comment